Gulbenkian Orchestra with conductor Nuno Coelho

Event Slider




Open-Air Amphitheatre Gulbenkian Garden

No intermission

Since the dawn of time, the combination of dance and music has marked the path of human existence. From pure entertainment to ritual and erudite abstraction, from traditional folklore to court balls and ballet, dance has been one of the most privileged means of expression of the connection between body and mind and of the relation between people and communities. Throughout History, composers were well aware of this reality and have integrated and stylized dance through their compositions. This is the case of most of the works in this programme, conceived by our guest conductor Nuno Coelho.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. The Foundation may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.