Gulbenkian Orchestra with conductor Joana Carneiro

Event Slider

Inspired by Prélude, a beautiful poem by the French symbolist Stéphane Mallarmé, the composer Claude Debussy created one his most remarkable orchestral works. In this creation he evokes the mythical nature, the wishes and dreams of a faun. Likewise, Tchaikovsky was also inspired by Mozart, not only to compose Variations on a Rococo Theme, the closest he would ever get to composing a cello concert, but also his Orchestral Suite No. 4, through which he reaffirms his admiration and honours this great figure of the 18th century.



Gulbenkian Orchestra
Joana Carneiro
Varoujan Bartikian Cello

Claude Debussy
Prélude à l’après midi d’un faune (arranjed under the auspices of A. Schönberg)

Piotr Ilitch Tchaikovsky
Variations on a Rococo Theme, for cello and orchestra, op. 33
Thema: Moderato assai quasi andante
– Var. I: Tempo della Thema
– Var. II: Tempo della Thema
– Var. III: Andante sostenuto
– Var. IV: Andante grazioso
– Var. V: Allegro moderato
– Var. VI. Andante
– Var. VII e Coda: Allegro vivo

Piotr Ilitch Tchaikovsky
Suite No. 4, in G Major, op. 61, Mozartiana
– Gigue: Allegro
– Menuet: Moderato
– Preghiera: Andante ma non tanto
– Thème et variations: Allegro giusto

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and collective preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us at [email protected]


Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. The Foundation may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.