Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6

Gulbenkian Orchestra / Andris Poga / Alexandre Kantorow

Event Slider




Grand Auditorium Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation

This concert will be broadcast live here on 25 March at 19:00.

Thanks to the correspondence exchanged between Tchaikovsky and his friends, we know that in 1889, a year after finishing Symphony No. 5, the Russian composer was already dreaming of a new grandiose orchestral piece capable of establishing itself as the creative pinnacle of his career. Four years of toing and froing would follow, with hesitations put aside during a European tour, as he mentally composed the notes that, when he returned home, he would feverishly write down on paper. Tchaikovsky’s glorious Pathétique Symphony will resound under the steady hand of the conductor Andris Poga, in addition to Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No. 2 which will feature the rigour and sensitivity of the soloist Alexandre Kantorow.



Gulbenkian Orchestra
Andris Poga Conductor
Alexandre Kantorow Piano

Pyotr Ilyitch Tchaikovsky (1840 – 1893)
Romeo and Juliet: FantasyOverture

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906 – 1975)
Piano Concerto No. 2, op. 102
1. Allegro
2. Andante
3. Allegro

Pyotr Ilyitch Tchaikovsky (1840 – 1893)
Symphony No. 6 in B minor, op. 74, Pathétique
1. Adagio – Allegro non troppo
2. Allegro con grazia
3. Allegro molto vivace
4. Finale: Adagio lamentoso

Main Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

Sponsor Piano Concertos


  • Classical Futures
  • Creative Europe

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. The Foundation may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.