A Journey to Russia

Sunday Concerts

Event Slider

Works such as Mikhail Glinka’s second opera, Ruslan and Liudmila (1842), paved the way for the development of a cosmopolitan musical Romanticism with Russian roots. Later, Sergei Prokofiev would graduate from this tradition. While still a student at the St. Petersburg Conservatory in 1912, he completed and premiered his Piano Concerto No. 1. But Prokofiev would prove to be a rebellious student in his musical endeavours, and this concert became a challenge to the conservative values of the institution. Two years later, he would write his “Classical” Symphony, a modern reinterpretation of the eighteenth-century style of Haydn and Mozart.


Gulbenkian Orchestra
Johannes Klumpp Conductor
Raúl da Costa Piano
Vera Dias Commentator

Mikhail Glinka (1804 1857)
Overture to Ruslan e Lyudmila

Sergei Prokofiev (1891 1953)
Piano Concerto No. 1 in D-flat major, Op. 10
Allegro brioso –
Andante assai –
Allegro scherzando

Sergei Prokofiev (1891 1953)
Symphony No. 1 in D major, Op. 25, “Classical”
Intermezzo: Larghetto
Gavotte: Non troppo allegro
Finale: Molto vivace

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us at [email protected].

Mecenas Principal Gulbenkian Música

Mecenas Concertos de Domingo

  • Santa Casa