A Journey to Hungary

Sunday Concerts

Event Slider

In 1896, the Czech composer Antonín Dvořák was inspired by local folk tales to create four symphonic poems, based on poems by Karel Jaromír Erben. One such piece is entitled The Noon Witch and portrays the potential excesses of protecting children when parents try to keep them safe from threats from the outside world. The connection to popular culture also underlies Ligeti’s Romanian Concerto, while Liszt focused on Gregorian melodies for the creation of his Dance of the Death. In a programme rich in the exploration of creative paths, we will also hear the music that Verdi composed for the opera Macbeth, based on one of William Shakespeare’s most emblematic plays.


Gulbenkian Orchestra
Nuno Coelho Conductor
Nuno Cernadas Piano
Maja Plüddemann Commentator

György Ligeti (1923 – 2006)
Concert românesc
1. Andantino
2. Allegro vivace
3. Adagio ma non troppo
4. Molto vivace

Franz Liszt (1811 – 1886)
Totentanz, S. 126

Antonín Dvořák (1841 – 1904)
The Noon Witch, op. 108

Giuseppe Verdi (1813 – 1901)
Ballet music from Macbeth

Main Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

Sunday Concerts

  • Santa Casa

Piano Concertos