Gulbenkian Orchestra with conductor Joana Carneiro

Event Slider




Grand Auditorium Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation

No intermission

Watch video

Inspired by Prélude, a beautiful poem by the French symbolist Stéphane Mallarmé, the composer Claude Debussy created one his most remarkable orchestral works. In this creation he evokes the mythical nature, the wishes and dreams of a faun. Likewise, Tchaikovsky was also inspired by Mozart, not only to compose Variations on a Rococo Theme, the closest he would ever get to composing a cello concert, but also his Orchestral Suite No. 4, through which he reaffirms his admiration and honours this great figure of the 18th century.


Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. The Foundation may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.