West Side Story

Gulbenkian Orchestra / Giancarlo Guerrero / Joseph Alessi

Event Slider




Grand Auditorium Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation

Gulbenkian Orchestra
Giancarlo Guerrero Conductor
Joseph Alessi Trombone

Samuel Barber
Adagio for Strings

Chick Corea
Concerto for Trombone: “A Stroll” *
A Stroll” Opening
A Stroll
Waltse for Joe
Joe’s Tango

— Intermission 20 min —

Leonard Bernstein
West Side Story: Symphonic Dances
Meeting Scene
“Cool”, Fugue

George Gershwin
An American in Paris


* First audition in Portugal. Commissioned by Orquestra Sinfónica do Estado de São Paulo, Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian, New York Philharmonic and Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra

It was at the mythical Birdland jazz club that the trombonist Joseph Alessi heard the pianist Makoto Ozone – on the same night he performed as a soloist with the New York Philharmonic – perform a Chick Corea composition entitled Brasilia. Alessi was so struck by the beauty of the theme that he wanted to ask Corea if he would agree to compose a trombone concerto for him. The invitation quickly turned into shared enthusiasm and superb creation. This is one of Chick Corea’s final works, which Alessi and the Gulbenkian Orchestra are presenting as a tribute to one of the most outstanding jazz musicians of recent decades.

Main Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. The Foundation may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.