Trance Map +

Event Slider

Evan Parker Soprano saxophone
Matt Wright Sound processing
Hannah Marshall Cello
Pat Thomas Electronics
Peter Evans Trumpet
Toma Gouband Percussion

Duration 75 minutes

Since first meeting during a studio session in 2008, Evan Parker and Matthew Wright have been the embodiment of this uniquely ever-changing group whose only constant feature is the joint presence of Parker’s saxophone and Wright’s electronic sound production and processing. While the name Trance Map + hints at the musical direction of its two founders and guest musicians, this is only because it is patiently pursued through an electro-acoustic exploration of atmospheres and sounds that exist in dimly lit and seldom visited corners outside the major channels. Jazz in August will see the worldwide premiere of a new sextet with Pat Thomas, Toma Gouband, Hanna Marshall and Peter Evans, creating new contours that are constantly being redrawn.



  • JazzM

Official Radio

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.