St. John’s Passion

Gulbenkian Orchestra and Choir / Florian Helgath

Event Slider

Premiered in Leipzig on Good Friday 1724, Bach’s St John’s Passion was a piece that the composer did not stop rewriting and reworking until the end of his life. There are, in fact, four distinct versions, none of them definitive, which are still the subject of considerable study by specialists in the German composer’s repertoire. The powerful musical narrative accompanying Christ’s trial, procession and death is an example of Bach at his most artistically sublime, within one of the most majestic and moving masterpieces in the history of music.


Gulbenkian Choir
Gulbenkian Orchestra
Florian Helgath Conductor
Ana Quintans Soprano
Maria Helgath Mezzo-Soprano
Tuomas Katajala Tenor (Evangelist)
Marco Alves dos Santos Tenor (Arias)
Hugo Oliveira Baritone (Jesus / Arias)
André Baleiro Baritone (Pilate)

Sónia Pais Flute
Alice Caplow-Sparks 1st Oboe and English born
Bethany Akers 2nd Oboe
Vera Dias Bassoon
Francisco Lima Santos Violin
Alexandra Mendes Violin
Lu Zheng Viola
Varoujan Bartikian Cello
Pedro Ares de Azevedo Double bass
Marcelo Giannini Pipe organ
Jorge Matta Choir conductor

Johann Sebastian Bach
St. John’s Passion, BWV 245

— Intermission 20 min —

Main Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. The Foundation may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.