Schumann and Tchaikovsky

Gulbenkian Orchestra / Lawrence Foster / Kian Soltani

Event Slider

Cello Concerto op. 129 by Robert Schumann was composed in 1850, in a rush of inspiration that lasted for two weeks. However, the work was not performed publicly until after Schumann’s death. For years, it remained a rarely performed work, a “lost” masterpiece, until it finally gained a deserved place in the repertoire. Conducted by Lawrence Foster, the soloist will be Kian Gtani, one of the most amazing young cellists, who is now making his debut in Gulbenkian Música.


Gulbenkian Orchestra
Lawrence Foster Conductor
Kian Soltani Cello

Robert Schumann
Cello Concerto, in A minor, op. 129

Piotr Ilitch Tchaikovsky
Symphony No. 3, in D major, op. 29, “Polish”

Main Sponsor Gulbenkian Music