Respighi and Strauss

Gulbenkian Orchestra / Giancarlo Guerrero

Event Slider




Grand Auditorium Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation

Premiered in 2011 by conductor Giancarlo Guerrero, the Ariadne auf Naxos Symphony Suite, by Richard Strauss, an arrangement by D. Wilson Ochoa, will be performed for the first time in Portugal. Working from Strauss’ original score, Ochoa created a symphonic suite infused with intense beauty, in a reworking of the music that the Austrian composer imagined for the opera Ariadne auf Naxos. Based on Greek mythology, and on the story of Princess Ariadne’s passion for Prince Theseus, who was displaced to Crete to kill the Minotaur, Strauss and Ochoa converge in a magnificent and evocative music.

Main Sponsor Gulbenkian Music


  • Classical Futures
  • Creative Europe

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. The Foundation may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.