New World Symphony

Gulbenkian Orchestra / Gábor Káli / André Gaio Pereira

Event Slider

The Czech composer Antonín Dvořák lived only two and a half years in New York, but it was long enough to leave a mark on the city and for American music to inspire his creations. The most obvious case of his openness to the sounds he discovered on the other side of the Atlantic can be found in is Symphony No. 9, entitled “From the New World”, infused with references to African-American spirituals and native music. To accompany this work, the Gulbenkian Orchestra, under the direction of the Hungarian conductor Gábor Káli, will present two pieces by Ligeti, with the soloist participation of André Gaio Pereira, who won the Maestro Silva Pereira Prize for Young Musician of the Year in 2017.



Gulbenkian Orchestra
Gábor Káli Conductor
André Gaio Pereira Violin

György Ligeti (1923 – 2006)
Concert românesc
1. Andantino
2. Allegro vivace
3. Adagio ma non troppo
4. Molto vivace

György Ligeti (1923 – 2006)
Violin Concerto
1. Praeludium: Vivacissimo luminoso – attacca
2. Aria, Hoquetus, Choral: Andante con moto – attacca
3. Intermezzo: Presto fluido
4. Passacaglia: Lento intenso
5. Appassionato: Agitato molto

Intermission (15 min.)

Antonín Dvořák (1841 – 1924)
Symphony no. 9 in E minor, op. 95, From the New World
1. Adagio – Allegro molto
2. Largo
3. Scherzo: Molto vivace
4. Allegro con fuoco

Main Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. The Foundation may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.