Event Slider

In the centenary year of the birth of Ernesto de Sousa, the CAM presents the work 'Luiz Vaz 73', in collaboration with the Foundation's Music Department and musicologist Jaime Reis.

In the centenary year of the birth of the multidisciplinary artist, filmmaker, curator, critic and essayist Ernesto de Sousa, the CAM, in collaboration with the Foundation’s Music Department and musicologist Jaime Reis, presents on the stage of the Grande Auditório the work Luiz Vaz 73 (1975–76), a mixed-media project by Ernesto de Sousa (Lisbon, 1921–1988) and composer, pianist, maestro and professor Jorge Peixinho (Montijo, 1940–Lisbon, 1995). This presentation also marks the incorporation of Luiz Vaz 73 in the CAM Collection in 2019 – the physical work and the documentation associated with both authors –, thus completing a cycle of works of conservation (restoration, scanning of the analogue slides and digital transcription of the magnetic tapes), study and material and historical reconstitution of the work.

The title of the work refers to the epic poem The Lusiads by Luiz Vaz de Camões, published 400 years previously in Lisbon, in 1573. This poem gave rise to a work of electronic music by the composer Jorge Peixinho, created in Ghent between 1973 and 1974. In 1975, Ernesto de Sousa and Jorge Peixinho began working in the 'visual-musical involvement' Luiz Vaz 73. This work was simultaneously spatial, visual and sonic, and was developed from a visual structure and a musical composition featuring live acoustic instrumental improvisation by the Lisbon Contemporary Music Group (founded in 1970). 

With six presentations between 1975 and 1981, the work was first presented in Ghent in 1975 and at the Galeria de Belém, Lisbon, in 1976, the latter involving the artistic collaboration of Fernando Calhau in the conception of the space. Posthumously, the work was presented in 2009 in CAM's Multipurpose Room, on the occasion of the exhibitions 70s. Crossing Frontiers. Twelve years after this last public presentation , a new gaze and curatorial reading of the sources, the documents produced by the artists (some unpublished), the physical materials of the work (restored and transcribed slides and magnetic tapes) and the technological supports (historical and current) was needed. The current re-presentation of Luiz Vaz 73 follows the script of the 1976 project, presented in National Gallery of Contemporary Art of Belém.




Curators Rita Fabiana and Jaime Reis with Diogo Marques and Sofia Mendes
Sound treatment and restoring Jaime Reis
Image treatment and restoring Lupa – Luís Pavão, lda. and Sónia Casquiço
Scenography Sofia Mendes (adaptation of the scenic project by Fernando Calhau for the Galeria de Belém in 1976)
Musicians GMCL – Grupo de Música Contemporânea de Lisboa, with the participation of Ana Castanhito (harp), Jorge Sá Machado (cello), José Sá Machado (violin), João Pereira Coutinho (flute), Luís Gomes (clarinet) and Ricardo Mateus (viola)
Musical direction and sonic spatialization Jaime Reis

A CAM production, in collaboration with the Foundation’s Music and Central Services Departments

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.