Bruckner’s Symphony No. 4

Gulbenkian Orchestra / Andris Poga

Event Slider

The Austrian composer and organist Anton Bruckner was 57 years old in 1881 when the Vienna Philharmonic premiered his Symphony No. 4, written seven years earlier. This would be the moment that dictated the profound change in his status. Despite already having a considerable body of work, Bruckner remained an almost unknown composer in his own country, and it would be the “Romantic” – as he called this symphony – that would correct this injustice. Known for his perfectionism, reviewed significant parts of the piece until 1888. In this concert, the work will be conducted by Latvian conductor Andris Poga, whose “amazing technique” earned the enthusiastic applause of Le Figaro.


Gulbenkian Orchestra
Andris Poga Conductor

Anton Bruckner
Symphony No. 4, in E -flat major, Romantic (1878/80 version)

Main Sponsor Gulbenkian Music