Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 3

Gulbenkian Orchestra / Alexander Liebreich

Event Slider




Grand Auditorium Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation

Gulbenkian Orchestra
Alexander Liebreich Conductor
Pia Freund Soprano

Kaija Saariaho(n. 1952)
Suite from Émilie *
1. Pressentiments
2. Interlude I
3. Principia
4. Interlude II
5. Contre l’oubli

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy (1809 1847)
Symphony No. 3, in A minor, op. 56, Scottish
1. Andante con moto – Allegro un poco agitato
2. Scherzo: Vivace non troppo
3. Adagio cantabile
4. Finale: Allegro vivacissimo – Allegro maestoso assai


* Portuguese premiere (the opera Émilie was co-commissioned by the Calouste Gulbenkian Foudation, da Ópera Nacional de Lyon e do Barbican Centre de Londres).

In 2019, in a poll of 174 composers conducted by BBC Music Magazine, the Finn Kaija Saariaho was judged the greatest living composer in the world. Founder, with Magnus Lindberg, of the Ears Open group, Saariaho has consolidated, over the years, this outstanding reputation through pieces commissioned by the Lincoln Center or by the Salzburg Festival. Tom Service, in The Guardian, wrote of her that “there are few composers who have dared to dream of sound images of such magnetic power”. At Gulbenkian Música, her work will be conducted by Alexander Liebreich, the Principal Conductor of the Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra.

Main Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. The Foundation may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.