Emperor’s Concerto

Orquestra Gulbenkian / Krzysztof Urbański / Elisabeth Leonskaja

Event Slider

For Elisabeth Leonskaja, the orchestra is “a huge block, a living body, which exists and has the right to exist with its rhythm and its pulse”. Thus, the Russian pianist considers it essential, in concerts with an orchestra, to tune in to this “pulse”, integrating an organic body and finding the perfect harmony for each performance. A regular presence at the Gulbenkian Música, in concert and in solo recital, Leonskaja rejoins the Gulbenkian Orchestra to share the interpretation of a Beethoven programme, under the direction of the Polish conductor Krzysztof Urbański, a musician of extraordinary intelligence and perception.


Gulbenkian Orchestra
Krzysztof Urbański Conductor
Elisabeth Leonskaja Piano

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat major, op. 73, Emperor
1. Allegro
2. Adagio un poco mosso
3. Rondo: Allegro

Intermission (15 min.)

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
Symphony No. 5 in C minor, op. 67
1. Allegro con brio
2. Andante con moto
3. Scherzo: Allegro
4. Finale: Allegro

Main Sponsor Gulbenkian Music