Chopin’s Piano Concerto No. 2

Gulbenkian Orchestra / Ricardo Castro / Maria João Pires

Event Slider

A new concert by Maria João Pires solidifies Gulbenkian Music as the stage where she has come to share new and old musical experiences. The wide-ranging programme includes a contemporary work by Pedro Amaral, one of Debussy’s reference compositions and Chopin’s Piano Concerto No. 2. The pianist has an especially passionate relationship with Chopin’s music, which she always elevates to the highest levels of interpretation.


Gulbenkian Orchestra
Ricardo Castro* Conductor
Maria João Pires Piano

Pedro Amaral (n. 1972)
Deux Portraits Imaginaires

Fryderyk Chopin (1810 – 1849)
Piano Concerto no. 2 in F minor, op. 21
1. Maestoso
2. Larghetto
3. Allegro vivace

Edvard Grieg (1843 – 1907)
Peer Gynt: Suite No. 1, op. 46
1. Morning Mood
3. Anitra's Dance


Claude Debussy (1862 – 1918)
La mer
1. De l’aube à midi sur la mer
2. Jeux des vagues
3. Dialogue du vent et de la mer


*Due to reasons of force majeure, conductor Tatsuya Shimono is replaced by Ricardo Castro.

Main Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

Sponsor Piano Concertos

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. The Foundation may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.