Former Presidents

Since its establishment in 1956, the Gulbenkian Foundation has had five presidents. The first was José de Azeredo Perdigão (1956 – 1993), followed by António Ferrer Correia (1993 – 1998), Victor Sá Machado (1998 – 2002), Emílio Rui Vilar (2002 – 2012), Artur Santos Silva (2012 – 2017) and Isabel Mota (2017 – 2022). Mikael Essayan, grandson of Calouste Sarkis Gulbenkian, was appointed Honorary President of the Gulbenkian Foundation.


Updated on 18 july 2022

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. The Foundation may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.