Winners of the 3rd edition of the Grants for Investigative Journalism

These are the 10 journalists who were selected to carry out their investigations related to Portugal and the Portuguese people.
17 mar 2021

Here are the names of the winners of the 3rd edition of the Grants for Investigative Journalism, an initiative started by the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation in 2018, with the intent of funding works of investigative journalism in the fields of politics, economy, society, culture and history as long as they are related to Portugal or the Portuguese people.

The Grants were introduced during the worldwide crisis of journalism and intend to promote independent and investigative journalism as a contribution for a more well-informed society. The 10 Grants awarded this year will join a list of more than 80 thousand grants awarded by the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation since its beginning, in 1956.

The Jury, which is appointed every year by the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation, evaluated a total of 66 projects and selected the candidates according to the adequacy of their CV, the journalistic relevance of the project, its sense of opportunity, but also its feasibility and their adaptation to mass communication media (written format, audio-visual or digital). The Jury takes full and exclusive responsibility for the decision of the winners.

The winners of the Grants for Investigative Journalism 2020 are:

  • José Manuel Barata Feyo
  • José Vegar
  • Inês Serra Lopes
  • Inês Rocha
  • Micael Pereira
  • Pedro Coelho
  • Raquel Albuquerque
  • Ruben Martins
  • Rui da Rocha Ferreira
  • Vitalino José Santos

From these 10 projects, 8 are meant to be published in written press, one was made for television and the other as a radio piece.

The Jury responsible for the selection of the winners of the 3rd edition of the Grants for Investigative Journalism is: António Granado (Faculdade de Ciências Sociais e Humanas da Universidade Nova Lisbon), Cândida Pinto (RTP), Cristina Ferreira (Público Newspapaper), João Garcia (journalist), José Pedro Castanheira (journalist) and Maria Flor Pedroso (journalist).

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. The Foundation may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.