Gulbenkian Prizes

Submissions open 3 April to 31 May
04 apr 2017

Annually, on 20 July, Calouste Gulbenkian is paid homage to throughout a day featuring various ceremonies that culminate in the delivery of the Awards made in his name. As from this year and for the next four years, there shall be a new set of categories, Cohesion, Sustainability and Knowledge, in addition to the already existing Human Rights. Annually, the Foundation Board of Trustees decides upon the more specific themes within each respective category that the prizes are dedicated to.

In the Human Rights category, the Calouste Gulbenkian Prize shall continue to distinguish people and non-profit organisations that have made an international mark in defence of and in ensuring human rights. This year, the category focuses upon refugee related issues. The winner receives prize money totalling €100,000.


The return of the national awards

After a five year cycle in which the only awards made went to international figures and institutions, the Gulbenkian Prizes shall again include categories in strategic fields defined by the Board of Trustees corresponding to the priority areas targeted by the Foundation over the forthcoming years in Portugal: Cohesion, Sustainability and Knowledge.

Therefore, in the Cohesion category, the Gulbenkian Prize distinguishes individuals or non-profit making institutions that engage in activities in Portugal and that have stood out in defending and building cohesion and social integration. In 2017, the award is made within the scope of wellbeing in ageing.

Natural resource sustainability is another of the Gulbenkian Prize categories and that this year takes as its focus shrinking our ecological footprints.

Finally, in the field of Knowledge, the award goes to individuals or non-profit making institutions that engage in activities in Portugal and that have played leading roles in fostering education and promoting and spreading knowledge. This year, the emphasis is placed upon promoting school success. Each of these prizes comes with the sum of €50,000.



Candidates may make their submissions either directly or by third parties, whether by institutions or by persons acting in an individual capacity. The decisions over the recipients of these Prizes is entirely the responsibility of the Foundation Board of Trustees, based upon the proposals made by an independent jury or juries purpose established to this end from among national and international figures and entities of recognised merit.

The submission and justification of candidates to these awards takes place exclusively online through to 31 May.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.