Tchaikovsky's 5th

Gulbenkian Orchestra

Event Slider




Grand Auditorium Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation


50% – Menores de 30 anos
15% – Maiores de 65 anos

Maurice Ravel

Ma mère l’Oye (suite)

Andreia Pinto Correia

Concerto for Cello and Orchestra *

— Intermission 20 min —

Piotr Ilitch Tchaikovsky

Symphony No. 5, in E minor, op. 64

* Absolute premiere – Commissioned by the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation

Andreia Pinto Correia, a prominent composer of contemporary music, will premiere her Concerto for Cello and Orchestra on this programme. It was composed for the unrivalled virtuosity of Jay Campbell, a cellist praised by the Washington Post for his “delicate, poignant and deeply moving” interpretations. Months before Pinto Correia arrives with another composition at the Los Angeles Philharmonic, by the hand of Gustavo Dudamel, the first audition of her new concert will be conducted in Lisbon by the young Uzbek conductor Aziz Shokhakimov, together with Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5.

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. The Foundation may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.