Romeo and Juliet

Sunday Concerts

Event Slider

  • Conductor
  • Commentary

Jean Sibelius

The Tempest, Suite no. 1, op. 109/2

Sergei Prokofiev

Romeo and Juliet
(suites 1 and 2 – selection)

Duration: 60 minutes without intermission

In these Sunday Concerts, the energetic and creative attitude of the conductor Tianyi Lu is put at the service of two fascinating works, linked by inspiration in the work of William Shakespeare. The challenge for Sibelius to create music from The Tempest, a play in which the English playwright sets Prospero to resort to magic to unleash a storm and cause a shipwreck, would stimulate in the composer one of his most stunning symphonic pieces. Prokofiev, for his part, created the ballet Romeo and Juliet, a dance version of the archetypal romantic narrative.


Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.


Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.