Polovtsian Dances

Sunday Concerts

Event Slider




Grand Auditorium Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation


10,00 €

Gulbenkian Orchestra
Joanna Natalia Ślusarczyk Conductor
Vadim Tsibulevsky Violin

Grażyna Bacewicz
Overture for Orchestra

Camille Saint-Saëns
Danse macabre, op. 40

Claude Debussy
Petite suite

Wojciech Kilar

Alexander Borodin
Polovtsian Dances

In recent years, Polish conductor Joanna Natalia Ślusarczyk’s career has merited close attention. In 2019, as proof of her very special qualities, she was chosen for the Mentoring Programme with composer Peter Eötvös. For this concert, in addition to more familiar pieces by Saint-Saëns, Debussy and Borodin, she will introduce works by two of her most notable contemporaries. She will direct Overture for Orchestra by Grazyna Bacewicz, written in 1943 during the German occupation of Poland, and Orawa by Wojciech Kilar, a work inspired by the namesake region next to the Slovakian border and elements of folk music.

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. The Foundation may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.