Marmen Quartet

String Quartets Festival

Event Slider




Grand Auditorium Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation

In partnership with the Biennale de Quatuors a Cordes de la Philharmonie de Paris, Gulbenkian Musica offers, for the third time in its programming, this unique musical moment, bringing together six remarkable contemporary string quartets in an intense two-day chamber music festival. In the 2021/22 season, the string quartets Casals, Tejo, Jerusalem, Borusan, Marmen and Danel will perform a wide quartet repertoire, ranging from J. Haydn to contemporary pieces, with an emphasis on the world premiere of a new work by the Portuguese composer Nuno Costa, which has been commissioned by the Gulbenkian Foundation. This is an excellent opportunity to be introduced to the genre and have the chance to hear new interpretations of works which have marked the chamber music repertoire as well as discover less well-known pieces which are not so frequently performed.


Marmen Quartet
Johannes Marmen 
Laia Braun Violin
Bryony Gibson-Cornish Viola
Sinéad O’Halloran Cello

Joseph Haydn (1732 – 1809)
String Quartet No. 50, in B flat major, op. 64 No. 3
1. Vivace assai
2. Adagio
3. Menuetto: Allegretto
4. Finale: Allegro con spirito

György Ligeti (1923 – 2006)
String Quartet No. 1, “Métamorphoses nocturnes”

Intermission (15 min.)

Salina Fisher (n. 1993)

Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897)
String Quartet No. 1, in C minor, op. 51 No. 1
1. Allegro
2. Romanze: Poco adagio
3. Allegretto molto moderato e comodo
4. Allegro

Main Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. The Foundation may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.