La Mer

Gulbenkian Orchestra

Event Slider

  • Conductor
  • Violin

Kaija Saariaho

Ciel d’hiver

Jean Sibelius

Violin Concerto in D minor, op. 47

— Intermission 20 min —

Olivier Messiaen

Le Tombeau resplendissant

Claude Debussy

La mer

Duration: 105 minutes

The new Music Director of the Gulbenkian Orchestra – with “a scrupulous ear for colour and instrumental harmony”, according to the Washington Post – has long developed a fruitful relationship with Sibelius’ music. In this programme, Hannu Lintu will conduct the Concerto for Violin and Orchestra, in D minor, by the Finnish composer, counting on the brilliance of the violinist Inmo Yang. Awarded on multiple occasions, Yang was the latest winner of the Jean Sibelius Violin Competition. At the time, the jury called his performance “overwhelming”, highlighting the enormous musicality of a performer who expands the possibilities of the instrument.

Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.