Elisabeth Leonskaja

Event Slider




Grand Auditorium Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation


50% – Under 30 years old
15% – Over 65 years old

  • Piano

Johannes Brahms

Piano Sonata No. 1, in C major, op. 1
Piano Sonata No. 2, in F-sharp minor, op. 2

— Intermission of 20 min —

Johannes Brahms

Piano Sonata No. 3, in F minor, op. 5

One of today’s most remarkable pianists, Elisabeth Leonskaja settled in Vienna in 1978. This is one of the reasons she indicates for her frequent recurrence to Brahms’ pianistic repertoire: “when you live in Vienna, you know the air that Brahms breathed,” she said in an interview. Her superb interpretation of Brahms’ piano sonatas was recognised with the Caecilia Prize in 1992. She says she is captivated by the many facets that the composer explores in his piano pieces and, with each return to his work, she renews her conviction that: “people absolutely need the music of Brahms”.

Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

Sponsor Piano Series

  • PWC

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. The Foundation may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.