Announcement of the winner of the 2022 Gulbenkian Prize for Humanity

Event Slider

The Foundation is set to announce the winner of the third edition of the Gulbenkian Prize for Humanity, dedicated to climate change.

The session will be attended by António Feijó, President of the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation, Angela Merkel, President of the Jury, and the winner.



With a cash award of €1 million, the Gulbenkian Prize for Humanity was introduced by the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation in 2020 to recognise people, groups of people or organisations from across the globe that make outstanding, innovative and impactful contributions to mitigate and adapt to climate change.

The Gulbenkian Prize for Humanity was awarded for the first time in 2020 to the young Swedish activist Greta Thunberg, who, through the Greta Thunberg Foundation, distributed the prize money among several environmental and humanitarian projects in the ‘Global South’.

In 2021 the Prize was awarded to the Covenant of Mayors for Climate and Energy, the largest global alliance for climate leadership in cities, comprising more than 10,600 cities and local governments from 140 countries, including Portugal. The amount awarded by the Gulbenkian Prize for Humanity was channelled towards energy transition and climate resilience in Africa, with large-scale projects being funded in five cities in Senegal (supply of drinking water) and in one city in Cameroon (development of energy efficiency solutions).

More info About the Jury

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.