The Nut Cracker

Sunday Concerts

Event Slider

The Nutcracker Suite, Op. 71a, premiered in Saint Petersburg by the hand of Tchaikovsky himself in March 1892, after the composer destroyed the music sheet of the symphonic ballad Voyevoda, Op. 78, upon its premiere at the end of the previous year. He then decided to replace the piece with the Nutcracker Suite, which he was orchestrating. Manuel de Falla composed El Amor Brujo: Danza Ritual del Fuego for the homonymous ballet, which tells the story of an Andalusian gipsy woman tormented by the ghost of her late husband, with whom she dances every night.


Gulbenkian Orchestra
Paolo Bortolameolli Conductor
Iva Barbosa Comments

Manuel de Falla
El Amor Brujo: Danza Ritual del Fuego

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
The Nutcracker: Suite No. 1, op. 71a

Jean Sibelius
Valse Triste, op. 44 No. 1

Zoltán Kodály
Dances of Galánta