Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 6

Gulbenkian Orchestra Lorenzo Viotti

Event Slider

Gulbenkian Orchestra
Lorenzo Viotti Conductor

Anton Webern
Langsamer Satz
(arr. for string orchestra by Gerard Schwarz)

Piotr Ilitch Tchaikovsky
Symphony No. 6, in B minor, op. 74

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us at [email protected].

Each season, the conductor Lorenzo Viotti defines his orchestral programmes with great thematic acuity. The two works chosen for this program are very personal in their inspiration and conception. Langsamer Satz (literally “Slow movement”), a work originally composed for string quartet, is a passionate declaration of love by Webern to his future wife Wilhelmine Mörtl. Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6, the final work the composer directed, is deeply enigmatic and dark. The strong emotions it reveals led scholars to identify this work as autobiographical in character.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.