Bruckner's 9th (Cancelled)

Gulbenkian Orchestra and Choir

Event Slider

Gulbenkian Choir
Gulbenkian Orchestra
Lorenzo Viotti Conductor

Giuseppe Verdi
Four Sacred Pieces

Anton Bruckner
Symphony No. 9, in D minor

Stabat Mater, one of the Four Sacred Pieces, was the last composition completed by Verdi, at 84 years of age. These choral pieces mark the great creative departure of a prolific composer with extensive work characterised by fertile invention, displaying the emotional intensity that Verdi always poured into his hailed operas. In fact, it was between his ultimate stage compositions, Othello and Falstaff that, in a first moment, the first two pieces of the cycle were born, between 1886 and 1889. It was only in 1896 that Te Deum and Stabat Mater emerged, the two final lavish legacies.


Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.