Arvo Pärt, Schönberg and Ligeti 

Gulbenkian Orchestra / José Eduardo Gomes

Event Slider

Gulbenkian Orchestra
José Eduardo Gomes Conductor
André Gaio Pereira Violin

Arvo Pärt

György Ligeti
Violin Concerto

Arnold Schönberg
Chamber Symphony No. 1, op. 9

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us at [email protected].

Fratres is one of Arvo Pärt’s most admired pieces. Created in 1977, based on the principles of the technique he described as “tintinnabuli”, it is a milestone in the resurgence of the music of the Estonian composer. Ligeti’s Violin Concerto (1989-1993) is a synthesis between the avant-garde of the time and the more traditional, melodic and formal conventions. Finally, Schoenberg’s Symphony No. 1 is a very technically demanding work within the chamber repertoire. A programme focusing exclusively on the 20th century, featuring José Eduardo Gomes, the recent winner of the European Union Orchestra Conducting Competition, and André Gaio Pereira, winner of the Prémio Jovens Músicos in 2017.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.