Symphonic Dances

Gulbenkian Orchestra

Event Slider

  • Muhai Tang Conductor
  • Agostinho Sequeira Percussion

Guo Wenjing

The Rite of Mountains
(Concerto for percussion and orchestra)
— Intermission 20 min —

Sergei Rachmaninoff

Symphonic Dances, op. 45

Muhai Tang, Principal Conductor of the Gulbenkian Orchestra between 1988 and 2001, returns to the Grand Auditorium. The reunion with a very particular hall and audience defined the career of one of the most outstanding conductors of his generation. Tang conducts Rachmaninoff’s Symphonic Dances and The Rite of Mountains, a piano and orchestra concerto by Guo Wenjing. The work of this major contemporary Chinese composer reflects on the earthquake that struck Sichuan in 2008, exploring the relationship between natural disasters and human life. The soloist will be Agostinho Sequeira, winner of the Tromp Prize in 2020.

Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.