Rachmaninov's Piano Concerto No. 2

Gulbenkian Orchestra

Event Slider

  • Conductor
  • Piano

Sergei Rachmaninov

Piano Concerto No. 2, in C minor, op. 18

— Intermission 20 min —

Richard Strauss

Also sprach Zarathustra, op. 30

Duration: 100 min.


Passionate and intense musician, Nikolai Lugansky returns to Gulbenkian Música to perform the challenging Rachmaninov Concerto No. 2. In the second part, in Thus Spoke Zarathustra, Richard Strauss relates to the idea of the “superman”, developed by the German philosopher Friedrich Nietzsche, as the culmination of human evolution. The majesty of Strauss’ musical creation, materialised in a symphonic poem, would be popularised by Stanley Kubrick’s cinema when he chose the music to accompany the opening of his masterpiece 2001: Space Odyssey.

Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.