New World Symphony

Gulbenkian Orchestra / Gábor Káli / André Gaio Pereira

Event Slider

The Czech composer Antonín Dvořák lived only two and a half years in New York, but it was long enough to leave a mark on the city and for American music to inspire his creations. The most obvious case of his openness to the sounds he discovered on the other side of the Atlantic can be found in is Symphony No. 9, entitled “From the New World”, infused with references to African-American spirituals and native music. To accompany this work, the Gulbenkian Orchestra, under the direction of the Hungarian conductor Gábor Káli, will present two pieces by Ligeti, with the soloist participation of André Gaio Pereira, who won the Maestro Silva Pereira Prize for Young Musician of the Year in 2017.


Gulbenkian Orchestra
Gábor Káli Conductor
André Gaio Pereira Violin

György Ligeti
Concert românesc

György Ligeti
Violin Concerto

Antonín Dvořák
Symphony no. 9 in E minor, op. 95, From the New World

Main Sponsor Gulbenkian Music