Music History in Symphony

Sunday Concerts

Event Slider

  • Rui Pinheiro Conductor
  • Commentary

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Symphony No. 40, in G minor, K. 550 (1th movement – Molto allegro)

Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No. 7, in A major, op. 92 (2nd movement – Allegretto)

Johannes Brahms

Symphony No. 2, in D major, op. 73 (3rd movement – Allegretto grazioso)

Piotr Ilitch Tchaikovsky

Symphony No. 5, in E minor, op. 64 (Finale)

Duration: 60 minutes without intermission

Designed for a family audience, the Sunday Concerts are open to the sharing of the great works and the most relevant authors of the repertoire, stimulating the approach to orchestral music and helping to understand and decode the pieces interpreted. This programme will present a brief history of the symphony, based on the performance of creations by Mozart, Beethoven, Brahms and Tchaikovsky. Symphonic works gained expression during the classical period and have remained to this day as a matrix type of composition for a composer’s statement.



Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.


Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.