Mozart’s Requiem

Gulbenkian Orchestra and Choir

Event Slider

  • Conductor
  • Ana Vieira Leite Soprano
  • Carolina Figueiredo Mezzo-soprano
  • Carlos Pedro Santos Bass

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Exsultate, jubilate, K. 165
Requiem, in D minor, K. 626
Ave verum corpus, K. 618
Duration approximately: 90 min.

The story of Mozart’s Requiem reads like a fictional narrative. Having been commissioned to compose a Requiem in 1781 by a patron who wished to remain anonymous, Mozart set about the task while his health deteriorated. It was as if the composer was writing a mass to honour him after his death. He worked obsessively, convinced that a dark omen accompanied the composition and ended up dying before he could complete a work that would nevertheless survive in all its grandeur.

Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.