Les nuits d'été (Cancelled)

Gulbenkian Orchestra / John Nelson

Event Slider

Gulbenkian Orchestra
John Nelson Conductor
Christine Rice Mezzo-Soprano
Nicholas Phan Tenor

Hector Berlioz
Les nuits d’été

Robert Schumann
Symphony No. 2, in C major, op. 61

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us at [email protected].

The return of veteran conductor John Nelson to Gulbenkian Música is one of the highlights of the season. His prolific career of concerts and recordings includes moments of excellence achieved in collaboration with the Gulbenkian Choir and the Gulbenkian Orchestra, particularly in the conducting of Beethoven’s Missa Solemnis (2010) and J. S. Bach’s Mass in B minor (2012). Awarded a Grammy, Nelson is recognized as one of the most versatile and complete conductors in the world. His interpretations of the great romantic repertoire, particularly opera, are considered benchmarks, especially the works of Hector Berlioz.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.