Brahms' Symphony No. 4 (Cancelled)

Gulbenkian Orchestra / Nuno Coelho

Event Slider

Gulbenkian Orchestra
Nuno Coelho Conductor
Jay Campbell Cello

Andreia Pinto Correia
Reverdecer, for cello and orchestra *

Johannes Brahms
Symphony No. 4, in E minor, op. 98

* World premiere. Commissioned under SP-LX – Contemporary music from Brazil and Portugal

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us at [email protected].

In January 2018, Gulbenkian Música presented, in a world première, the String Quartet No. 1, Unvanquished Space, by Andreia Pinto-Correia, a work that has since become internationally recognised. The Portuguese composer now shares, again in a world première, her concert for cello and orchestra Reverdecer. Under conductor Nuno Coelho, the audience will also be able to hear the final Brahms Symphony, a work that Clara Schumann considered “grandiosely constructed and full of passion”. Also on the stage will be Jay Campbell, cellist of the JACK Quartet, praised by the New York Times for his “electrifying interpretations”.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.