Beethoven’s 9th Symphony

Gulbenkian Orchestra and Choir

Event Slider

  • Conductor
  • Ambur Braid Soprano
  • Jess Dandy Mezzo-soprano
  • Michael Weinius Tenor
  • Matthew Rose Bass

Sofia Gubaidulina

The Wrath of God
— Intermission 20 min. —

Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No. 9, in D minor, op. 125
Duration approximately: 90 min.

Dedicated to Beethoven, The Wrath of God is one of Russian composer Sofia Gubaidulina’s greatest creations. A piece of astonishing intensity that seems to make the senses shudder. Gubaidulina said in an interview that, as humanity is pushed to be levelled and homogenised, the task of an artist must be to counter this idea. The piece, premiered in 2020 on the occasion of the 250th anniversary of Beethoven’s birth, is conducted at Gulbenkian Music by Hannu Lintu and is paired with the German composer’s emblematic Ninth Symphony.

Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.