Bach's Mass in B minor

Gulbenkian Orchestra and Choir / Leonardo García Alarcón

Event Slider

Gulbenkian Choir
Gulbenkian Orchestra
Leonardo García Alarcón Conductor
Inês Tavares Lopes Gulbenkian Choir rehearser

Ana Quintans Soprano
Owen Willetts Countertenor
Dara Savinova Mezzo-Soprano
Cátia Moreso Mezzo-Soprano
Fabio Trümpy Tenor
Andreas Wolf Bass-Baritone

Francisco Lima Santos Violin
Varoujan Bartikian Cello
Domingos Ribeiro Double bass
Cristina Ánchel Flute
Amália Tortajada Flute
Pedro Ribeiro Oboe d’amore
Alice Caplow-Sparks Oboe d’amore
Vera Dias Bassoon
Raquel Saraiva Bassoon
Luís Duarte French horn
Jorge Almeida Trumpet
Adrià Gàlvez Organ

Johann Sebastian Bach
Mass in B minor, BWV 232
— Intermission 20 min —
Symbolum Nicenum (Credo)
Sanctus – Osanna – Benedictus
Agnus Dei

The Argentinian conductor Leonardo García Alarcón, who specializes in Baroque music, discovered his love for the music of J. S. Bach when he was still a child. He was eight years old when, confronted with the St Matthew Passion, among other pieces by the German composer that his grandmother had gifted him, he saw a light that he would never stop pursuing. It was from this epiphany that his destiny was unequivocally formed, and the musician has built a remarkable path which is especially dedicated to the music birthed within the historical period of Bach. On this return to the Grand Auditorium, he also returns to his first musical love, conducting Bach’s Mass in B Minor, sometimes described as a “cathedral of sound”.

Main Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.