A Night at the Valley

Gulbenkian Orchestra / Diogo Costa

Event Slider

Gulbenkian Orchestra
Diogo Costa Conductor
Carla Caramujo* Soprano
Marco Alves dos Santos Tenor

George Gershwin
Cuban Overture

Giacomo Puccini
La Rondine: Chi il bel sogno di Doretta

Manuel de Falla
La Vida Breve: Interlude and Spanish Dance

Franz Lehár
The Merry Widow: “Lippen schweigen”

Paul Dukas
The Sorcerer’s Apprentice

Leonard Bernstein
West Side Story: “I feel pretty”
West Side Story: “Maria”
West Side Story: “Tonight”
Overture to Candide

Arturo Márquez
Danzón Nº. 2


*Due to health reasons, soprano Dora Rodrigues will be replaced by Carla Caramujo and tenor Marco Alves dos Santos replaces Carlos Cardoso.

As in previous years, Gulbenkian Música will join forces with the “Lisboa na Rua” festival to organise a concert for the magnificent setting of Vale do Silêncio. Conducted by Diogo Costa, the Gulbenkian Orchestra and invited soloists will perform a programme that interweaves symphonic music with favourite arias from operas, operettas and musicals by composers including Manuel de Falla, Giacomo Puccini, George Gershwin and Leonard Bernstein, the latter of West Side Story fame.




The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.