The Rite of Spring

Gulbenkian Orchestra

Event Slider

  • Conductor
  • Marisol Montalvo Soprano
  • Joonas Ahonen Piano

Luigi Nono

Como una ola de fuerza y luz
— Intermission —

Igor Stravinsky

The Rite of Spring

Italian composer Luigi Nono associated his work with a pronounced political dimension, with references to the Algerian revolution, Auschwitz or the uprisings that took place in Vietnam, Cuba and South American countries. These pieces, created through a political filter, had their final moment in Como una ola de fuerza y luz, written in response to the death of Luciano Cruz, a leader of the Chilean revolutionary left. In this programme, conducted by Hannu Lintu, Nono’s music introduces Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring, an aesthetically and musically revolutionary work.

Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.