The Four Seasons

Sunday Concerts

Event Slider

  • Violin, Direction

Antonio Vivaldi

The Four Seasons, op. 8
Duration approximately: 60 min.

Vivaldi’s Four Seasons are, without any doubt, one of the most popular works in the concert repertoire. This was already the case in his lifetime, although it was to be followed by a sudden and lengthy disappearance from the collective imagination, which was corrected in the first half of the 20th century. Since then, the series of four concerts has once again become a must on music programmes and is also a challenge that many great violinists take on at the peak of their careers. Dedicating each concert to a season of the year, Vivaldi also addresses the passage of time and the cycles of life and nature.

Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.


Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.