Tchaikovsky's 5th

Gulbenkian Orchestra

Event Slider

  • Conductor
  • Cello

Maurice Ravel

Ma mère l’Oye (suite)

Andreia Pinto Correia

Reverdecer, concerto for cello and orchestra *

— Intermission 20 min —

Piotr Ilitch Tchaikovsky

Symphony No. 5, in E minor, op. 64


* Absolute premiere – Commissioned by the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation and Orquestra Sinfónica do Estado de São Paulo.

Duration: 120 minutes



Andreia Pinto Correia, a prominent composer of contemporary music, will premiere her work Reverdecer, concerto for cello and orchestra on this programme. It was composed for the unrivalled virtuosity of Jay Campbell, a cellist praised by the Washington Post for his “delicate, poignant and deeply moving” interpretations. Months before Pinto Correia arrives with another composition at the Los Angeles Philharmonic, by the hand of Gustavo Dudamel, the first audition of her new concert will be conducted in Lisbon by the young Uzbek conductor Aziz Shokhakimov, together with Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5.

Gulbenkian Music Sponsor

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.