Tchaikovsky and Shostakovich

Gulbenkian Orchestra / Valentina Peleggi / Karen Gomyo

Event Slider

Gulbenkian Orchestra
Valentina Peleggi Conductor
Karen Gomyo Violin*

Dmitri Shostakovich
Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor, op. 77
1. Nocturne: Moderato
2. Scherzo: Allegro
3. Passacaglia: Andante – Cadenza –
4. Burlesque: Allegro con brio – Presto

— Intermission 20 min. —

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Symphony No. 4 in F minor, op. 36
1. Andante sostenuto – Moderato con anima
2. Andantino in modo di canzona
3. Scherzo: Pizzicato ostinato – Allegro
4. Finale: Allegro con fuoco


* Due to health reasons, violinist Simone Lamsma will be replaced by Karen Gomyo.

The Italian conductor Valentina Peleggi, a disciple of Marin Alsop, grew up with her great grandmother’s story in the back of her mind. Giving up a career as a singer even after convincing Puccini to cast her as Musetta in the opera La Bohème, she left the stage to devote herself to her marriage. Four generations later, Peleggi had no doubts about her destiny. As a child, she was directed by Zubin Mehta and recognised that that was what she wanted. Described by BBC Magazine as a “Rising Star” in 2018, she will perform at the Gulbenkian in the company of the violinist Karen Gomyo.

Main Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

Gulbenkian Orchestra Sponsor

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.