Swan Lake

Gulbenkian Orchestra

Event Slider

  • Conductor
  • Alexander Malofeev Piano

Alfred Schnittke


Piotr Ilitch Tchaikovsky

Piano Concerto No. 2, in G major, op. 44
— Intermission —

Sofia Gubaidulina

Fairytale Poem

Piotr Ilitch Tchaikovsky

Suite from Swan Lake, op. 20a

When Alexander Malofeev won the hotly contested Tchaikovsky Prize for Young Musicians at the age of 13, the arrival of a new “Russian genius” was soon announced. From that moment in 2014 until today, this prediction has been confirmed in all the major venues where Malofeev has performed. One of his first great enthusiasts was the conductor Riccardo Chailly, who praised “the depth and technical quality” of his pianistic discourse. Under the direction of Hannu Lintu, Malofeev joins the Gulbenkian Orchestra in performing Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 2.

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.