Sinfonia Concertante

Gulbenkian Orchestra / Pinchas Zukerman / Fumiaki Miura

Event Slider




Grand Auditorium Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation

This concert will be broadcast live on 11 November at 19:00.

Gulbenkian Orchestra
Pinchas Zukerman Conductor / Viola
Fumiaki Miura Violin

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Sinfonia Concertante for Violin, Viola and Orchestra in E-flat major K. 364 (320d)
1. Allegro maestoso
2. Andante
3. Presto

— Intermission 20 min —

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy
Symphony No. 4 in A major, op. 90, “Italian”
1. Allegro vivace
2. Andante con moto
3. Con moto moderato
4. Saltarello: Presto

Born in Japan, Fumiaki Miura moved to Vienna while still a teenager and has been mentored by the conductor and violinist Pinchas Zukerman since the age of 16. Since then, he has accumulated awards and earned a deserved place on the world’s major stages, also regularly teaming up with Maria João Pires. His trust and rapport with musicians of this calibre are proof of a talent that is no longer simply promising. On his discipline, Zukerman says that “Miura’s art ensures the highest level of violin playing for the coming decades.”


Main Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

Gulbenkian Orchestra Sponsor

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. The Foundation may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.