Shostakovich's 11th

Gulbenkian Orchestra / Hannu Lintu

Event Slider

  • Conductor
  • Cello

Dmitri Shostakovich

Cello Concerto Nº. 1 in E-flat major, op. 107

— Intermission 20 min —

Dmitri Shostakovich

Symphony No. 11 in G minor, op. 103, “The year 1905”

Duration 110 minutes

Cellist Mstislav Rostropovich’s superlative talent has inspired many composers to write work to exploit the amazing technique and expressivity of one of the 20th-century’s most remarkable musicians. Shostakovitch’s Cello Concerto No. 1 is one such example, supreme amongst concert pieces for cello since its premiere in 1959. In these concerts, Marco Pereira, the Gulbenkian Orchestra’s soloist, will take this challenging place under the rigorous Finnish conductor Hannu Lintu. The programme will be completed by Shostakovitch’s acclaimed Symphony No. 11.

Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

Sponsor Gulbenkian Orchestra

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.