Nikolai Lugansky

Event Slider

  • Piano

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy

6 Lieder ohne Worte

Ludwig van Beethoven

Piano Sonata para Piano No. 17, in D minor, op. 31 No. 2, “Tempest”
— Intermission 20 min —

Richard Wagner / Nikolai Lugansky

Four Scenes from Götterdämmerung

Richard Wagner / Nikolai Lugansky

Isolde’s Liebestod, S. 447

Wagner’s grandiloquence in his operatic compositions is well known. But if his mastery of the orchestral exploration of emotions (taken to excess in all their dramatic splendour) is a universal truth, the transcriptions and paraphrases of this operatic repertoire rethought by Nikolai Lugansky for solo piano are no less sumptuous. At Gulbenkian Music, the accomplished Russian pianist will perform four scenes from Götterdämmerung with his own arrangement and an aria from Tristan and Isolde adapted by Liszt, as well as pieces by Mendelssohn and Beethoven.

Sponsor Piano Series

  • PWC

Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.