New World Symphony

Gulbenkian Orchestra

Event Slider

  • Conductor
  • Cello

Karol Szymanowski

Concerto Overture in E major, op. 12

Witold Lutosławski

Cello Concerto
— Intermission 20 min —

Antonín Dvořák

Symphony No. 9, in E minor, op. 95, From the New World

Lutosławski’s Cello Concerto was premiered in 1970 by the legendary Mstislav Rostropovich. This striking work will be performed here by Nicolas Altstaedt, one of today’s outstanding cellists. Alstaedt fell in love with Lutosławski’s music as a child, captivated by an “incredible textural beauty that he had never heard before” (The Strad). At the age of 20, he used his free time to fulfil his dream of learning the piece, which has been integral to his career and which we’ll hear here in a programme that also includes the Overture op. 21 by Szymanowski and the New World Symphony by Dvořák.

Sponsor Gulbenkian Music

The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation reserves the right to collect and keep records of images, sounds and voice for the diffusion and preservation of the memory of its cultural and artistic activity. For further information, please contact us through the Information Request form.

Cookies settings

Cookies Selection

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security, and its website performance. We may also use cookies to share information on social media and to display messages and advertisements personalised to your interests, both on our website and in others.